If only BP felt this way


I love a good cup of coffee.  If I can’t get it freshly ground from the finest beans and served as strong as Hulk Hogan and hot as Megan Fox, I’ll just as easily accept it the other way around.

I regularly put my hand up to make a cup, and offer to make one for colleagues which often results in me carrying a handful of mugs of steaming hot liquid of various descriptions.

Recently I was in such a situation when I found my hands growing rapidly warmer.  I had only started on my journey and had made it as far as some stone-type flooring before hitting the office proper when I could take it no more, and promptly turned rapidly around and made my way back to the kitchen, spilling a little in the process.

Knowing that we need to be wary of the financial implications of our actions and that where there is a blame, there is a claim, I rapidly returned to mop up the drops with a bit of tissue.

Whilst doing so I overheard someone standing around with some colleagues, who mentioned seeing me spill it and saying that I should probably call facilities to get it cleaned up.

In what world am I not more than capable of wiping it up with a bit of tissue?  Why must I go around it to my desk, log a call with facilities who will then log a visit for about half an hour’s time to view the problem, place a ‘wet floor’ sign next to it and call someone with a mop to clean it down?

Seriously people, let’s put Big Society into action!  Wipe up your own spills, adjust your own seats and police your own streets.  I know which of those I’m going to do with my spare 68% of wasted time in the workplace.

Explore posts in the same categories: We love the Council

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “If only BP felt this way”


  1. […] When we started writing this blog there was a sense of genuine joy in our hearts. We wrote posts about council run walking schemes, the attempts of a council to ban their staff from using the stairs, inappropriate use of the ‘reply all’ button, internal fights over dress codes and what happens when someone spills a cup of coffee. […]


Leave a Reply

