My Own New Year’s Resolutions


Takes me back to happier days...

In a previous post, a fellow blogger talked about the spring in their step on the way into work and how good they felt after the break.  I’m totally with them on this – until I’m brought down by means fair or foul, I intend to keep my head and spirits high.

In fact, there are quite a few things I’m intending to do over the coming year.  You may spy one or two local government new year’s resolutions lists around (including one on the ever excellent Guardian Local Government Network website written by the shy but brilliant Insiders).  However, on a more personal level here are my own resolutions for 2011.

1.  Secure a position.  Somewhere.  Anywhere.  I’m not alone in this aim, and am competing against those far better, sharper and more experience than I am (people such as the superb RPS, who surely will be snapped up sooner rather than later).  I need a job secure-ish as soon as possible, just so I can keep the wife topped up with caviar and champagne and the kids personal helicopter in action.

2.  Stay motivated more often than not.  Working in local government, especially during these times, can be a slog.  I regularly find myself in peaks and troughs of energy and enthusiasm for the tasks at hand, and focus myself accordingly.

I’m determined to fulfil at least a fraction of my potential, so will be making a special effort to switch on more this year and drive ahead.  I’m not getting any younger, and the next job won’t just fall from the sky.  Unless I decide to become a professional parachutist of course.

3.  Blog more.  Ideas, like clientele at an Amsterdam house of ill repute, come and go.  Sometimes I’ll be brimming with them, and have more articles in my head than my fingertips can translate into written prose.

Other times however, life gets in the way.  Deadlines need to be met at work and at home and, simply put, inspiration fails me.  This won’t be the case this year.  There are interesting times ahead and plenty to comment on, and I’m not going to get stuck in a rut of writing what I think people will enjoy reading – I’m going to write what I want to speak about.  Often this will be a little unfocussed and maybe not as incisive as some of my excellent co-conspirators, but I’m happy to be the Morecombe to their Wise, the Laurel to their Hardy, the Pickles to their Osbourne.  Or at least, the Gordon the Gopher to their Philip Schofield.

4.  Get my Council using social media.  They’ve got the idea basically, they even sent a handful of tweets last year.  Now is the time for me to force them to do this properly.

I’m going to get them micro-blogging, blogging, posting videos and really listening to what people are saying rather than fitting everything into their own version of what the public want, or I’ll die trying.  Probably the latter, at least professionally speaking, but at least I’ll die with my boots on.

5.  Network more.  This year I plan to actually increase the range of people that I know that will be able to help me with my work.  These might be managers, operational staff, residents or other colleagues – in fact, anyone who can help will be on my ‘to know’ list.

I’m certain there are plenty of other resolutions for me to forget after three months, but any that our readers can share or suggest would be welcome too!

Explore posts in the same categories: We love the Council

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “My Own New Year’s Resolutions”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by PublicSectorBloggers, WeLoveLocalGov. WeLoveLocalGov said: I do love a good set of #localgov related new years resolutions… (admittedly they're on our blog!) http://bit.ly/fG7yhN […]

  2. Mark Stanley Says:

    Love this blog (only found it today from a comment you left in the Guardian).

    I’m with you on the get a job mission for 2011!

    All the best, Mark


Leave a Reply

