Now I’ve definitely been here too long


Our last post on this blog was contributed to by many, but it seems to have affected me and made me realise that perhaps I’m now officially within that group.  Two recent incidents have cemented this fear in my mind.

The first was following the arrival of a new ex-graduate to the service who sit next to us.  He might be a nice enough person, but before I could find out – indeed before he had said anything else – he came over and demanded to know my name.  This was after he had stood there over my team’s bank of desks and gone round pointing at people to find out their names.

For some reason this really got my heckles up: who was he to come over and demand to know who I am?  He’s not a new senior manager walking the floor; he’s a first-dayer who probably won’t be here in a few months anyway.  I on the other hand lead a team, have been in Local Government for a number of years and am well known(ish) to those around me.  I ended up demanding his name before I’d tell him mine.

How childish is that?!  At what point has the hierarchy of the organisation become so ingrained within me that I get offended when someone on a lower level of the ladder asks my name?  Okay, his style was boorish and arrogant, but it’s my own reaction that surprised and frankly embarrassed me (although of course I’ll never admit that, even to the Spanish inquisition).

The second incident happened today, when I saw a Fire Exit sign.  I began building an argument to myself that it shouldn’t be a fire exit sign at all, but an emergency exit one.  What if there was a bomb alert, or perhaps a ninja attack?  People would be trapped, as the only available exit would be for fire-related use only.

Seriously, someone rescue me before I do some damage.

Explore posts in the same categories: We love the Council

One Comment on “Now I’ve definitely been here too long”

  1. Karinne Says:

    Acting devil’s advocate here, but this sentence says it all:
    “Okay, his style was boorish and arrogant, but it’s my own reaction that surprised and frankly embarrassed me”

    Your reaction did not stem from an ingrained kowtowing or sense of entitlement from heirarchy, or from being in the service too long. It comes of someone being rude and presumptuous and you seeking to find an excuse for your (justifiably) offended reaction. (the clue’s in the fact you were embarrassed at your reaction)

    I’d argue that if a senior manager did that to you, then you’d respond, but also dismiss him/her as boorish and crude and start to wonder why he/she had risen to such a position.

    It’s got nothing to do with an ingrained sense of heirarchy.

    Also, we seriously need ninja attack exits. Good call!


Leave a Reply

