Breaking up is hard to do


Sometimes breaking up is the right thing to doDear job,

I wanted to put a few things down in words because I’m finding it too difficult to admit them.  Before you read any further, I want you to know that you’ll always have a special place in my heart and have helped me grow so much as a person; for that I will always be grateful.

But we can’t live in the past.  things have moved on, we’ve both changed so much, so it’s with a heavy heart that I have to say that I’m leaving you.

I’ve not found someone else, but I know in my heart that there is the right place for me out there, somewhere which will value me for who and what I am and cherish our time and efforts together.  It might take me a week, it might take me a year, but I’m going to keep looking, trusting in my belief that our paths will cross.

I know you and I have had good times in the past, and I will always remember them fondly.  At the begining it was all so fresh, so exciting; it looked like the world would be ours for the taking and there was no end to the achievements we could share.  I poured all of my energy and attention into making things work, and for a time they did.  You provided me with the support, encouragement and opportunities I needed, and in return I helped you explore and develop in ways we never imagined.

But recently you’ve changed.  I no longer feel cared for, appreciated or listened to.  You seem to be demanding more and more from me whilst giving me less and less back.  The days feel so long and troubled, and sometimes I find it difficult to sleep at night.  There are even others being brought into the relationship to do things that I used to do with you, slowly making me seem no longer needed.  Our dreams are moving apart, our shared goals a distant memory.

You see, it’s not just you, it’s me as well.  I’ve grown, seen sights, met people and done things that have inspired me to want to do more.  I’ve decided that I want to make the next step, plant my feet in the sand and do something I can really be proud of.  The times of ‘just good enough’ are in the past; the future holds so much more.

Although I don’t want to be too misleading, actually mostly it is you.

I won’t let myself stay downtrodden and unhappy, I can sense that I’m not really wanted and that you have been looking for an opportunity to end things for a while.  Well, I’m going to be the bigger person and take action, make a clean break and move on.  I deserve happiness and appreciation, and I’m going to make it happen rather than wait around for an indeterminate amount of time waiting for a potential opportunity which may never come along.

You can keep those few posessions we built up together over the years; all I want to take away is the happy memories and the lessons I’ve learnt.  I hope we stay in touch over time, but understand if you don’t want me to call and ask after you.  This is the right thing for both of us, I know that deep down you understand.

All the very best,

Your employee. XxX

Explore posts in the same categories: We love the Council

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Breaking up is hard to do”

  1. Andy Mabbett Says:

    That’s *exactly* how I felt when I quit my local gov job in April:

    http://pigsonthewing.org.uk/my-services/


  2. That is so well written…as someone going through redundancy with a employer of 12 years…it sums everything up even though mine is a private enterprise and not public sector.

    • localgov Says:

      Ending an employee/er relationship is tough whenever you at some point had a vested interest – as we’ve said before, public and private sector employees are all the same types of people generally speaking.

      Whoever pays money into your bank account, making the decision (or having it made for you) is an awful process with real life changing consequences – let’s collectively concentrate on those more positive consequences rather than negative.

  3. citizenr Says:

    I remember when I broke up with my teachers juts before redundancy…http://citizenr.wordpress.com/2010/09/17/its-not-you-its-me/


  4. [...] July, we sent a break up letter to our job and asked staff to join us in a little bit of council Bingo, but the stand out post was one [...]


  5. [...] I met you I was just coming out of a long term relationship which hadn’t worked out.  In it we had been surviving and getting through things, but going [...]


  6. [...] the job itself.  Not the cause of our misery exactly; rather, its manifestation.  A sad piece of lovely writing on the subject of slowly disengaging with the environment that has been public service (and thanks [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

