How to walk in three easy steps


Today we got given a flyer and sent an e-mail about a lunch-time walk.  This certainly sounds nice on the face of it – a scenic stroll next to the river in the company of interesting colleagues and in decent (if not fine) weather.

That, my friends, is where Local Government kicked in.

If we wanted to take part in this walk firstly we had to register our interest.  Register interest?!  It’s a walk for crying out loud!!!  What possible reason could there be for registering interest in walking from a to b – if we are interested then we’ll just do it!

Of course that wasn’t all, we also were told we had to fill in a form.  For walking.  Seriously, I know Councils like forms like the average man likes a Pussy Cat Dolls video, but what information about walking could they possibly hope to garner?  “do you start usually with the left foot or the right?” perhaps, or “What is your preferred direction of walking: forwards, sideways or backwards?”.

That’s not all.  Each walk will have a leader.  Should you wish to lead a walk yourself you will need to go on a training course first.  Never fear however, as they have a shortened version of the course which only takes three hours.  I know it took me a good eight or nine months to learn how to walk first time around, but I’m pretty sure I’ve got it down pat by now.

We are seriously considering being rebels and going for a walk at the same time along the same path but not going through this rigmoral.  Most of us don’t even particularly like walking, but it’s the principal of the thing after all!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

12 Comments on “How to walk in three easy steps”


  1. [...] Having that small yellow sign telling me the floor is wet won’t even stop many people from suing if they think they can get away with it.  The Council might be able to point to their little sign and say ‘we did warn you’ but I’m certain there are arguments around this, and before long we’ll have to hand out safety leaflets whenever it looks a bit cloudy and introduce wet-weather walking training courses as a supplement to the existing dry-weather version. [...]


  2. [...] did so, forwarding this gem of an e-mail bemoaning the ending of their summer walking club (we talked about our own Council’s efforts a while ago); at least we think that’s what it’s about as it’s a little [...]


  3. [...] this blog there was a sense of genuine joy in our hearts. We wrote posts about council run walking schemes, the attempts of a council to ban their staff from using the stairs, inappropriate use of the [...]


  4. [...] reprint of our first ever blog post: Today we got given a flyer and sent an e-mail about a lunch-time walk.  This certainly sounds [...]


  5. [...] by a desire to share a few thoughts with a few people about a walking club, we put up our first post. It was read by about seven people a day, and the only people sharing it were the people who wrote [...]


  6. [...] the past, to the very first days of this blog.  Set up after a few conversations in corridors, its very first post poked fun at the rigmarole surrounding the introduction of a new walking club.  Back then posts [...]


  7. [...] we spoke about, so proceeded to set up this very blog and post up our first ever post, ‘How to walk in three easy steps‘.  This first toe-dip into the water made us smile enough to continue, so before too long we [...]


  8. I enjoy reading an article that can make people think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment!


  9. Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with
    Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains.
    If you know of any please share. Appreciate it!


  10. I used to be suggested this blog by way of my cousin. I’m now not certain whether this put up is written by means of him as no one else recognize such special approximately my difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks!


  11. After checking out a handful of the articles on your web page, I really like your technique of blogging.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Take a look at my website too and let me know how you feel.


  12. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own
    blog and was wondering what all is required to get setup?

    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

